Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram

Celtic Woman - Emerald | FESTIVALPHOTO

Celtic Woman - Emerald



Celtic Woman is a highly successful female vocal group formed almost ten years ago and which performs traditional Irish songs as well as modern songs both on a series of sucecssful albums, and also on regular concert tours - particularly in the US. Emerald is their latest release and is a live show available on CD, DVD and BluRay.

It's a highly choreographed performance with the visuals clearly considered to be a key part of the show. The combination of singing, music and Irish dancing and a choreographed performance gives it a very theatrical feel - more like watching a musical at the theatre than a concert in some ways. It's a singing equivalent to Riverdance really.

I have to be honest - while there is plenty of great singing, music and dancing, I did find the fact things were so polished and there was so much posing for the camera or audience that it felt like a Disney production rather than the real thing - a bit like comparing Disney's "The Lion King" to watching a wildlife film - one is real and the other is a cute sweet version. It comes down to what you want to see/hear. While the show was very impressive I would personally prefer to see a more stripped-down performance with more focus on the songs and less on the show, but I do realise that for many people things are the other way round.

If you like Celtic music and Irish dancing then Celtic Woman do put on a very impressive show and this DVD is a great release.

Track listing:

1. Awakening
2. Dúlaman
3. Nocturne
4. Téir Abhaile Riú
5. The Coast Of Galiçia
6. Danny Boy
7. Mo Ghile Mear
8. Amazing Grace
9. She Moved Through The Fair
10. Níl Sé'n Lá
11. Shenandoah
12. The Voice
13. You Raise Me Up
14. The Parting Glass
15. Playoff/Credits

Bonus material:
1. Caledonia
2. Bridge Over Troubled Water
3. Ave Maria

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook