Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram



Avantasia is a German supergroup metal opera project created by Tobias Sammet, vocalist of the band Edguy. It has been characterized as a rock opera, as it features the contributions of various vocalists and musicians and it consists of concept albums. The name is a portmanteau of the words "avalon" and "fantasia" ("fantasy") and describes "a world beyond human imagination".

The project can be divided into four periods of activity. The first, 1999–2002, saw the release of a self-titled single and the full-length albums The Metal Opera and The Metal Opera Part II. The second, 2006–2011, consists of the EPs Lost in Space Part I & II and The Wicked Trilogy, composed of the albums The Scarecrow, The Wicked Symphony and Angel of Babylon. The third, 2013–2016, includes the albums The Mystery of Time and Ghostlights. The fourth period began with the release of the Moonglow album in 2019.

Having blown crowds away with headline sets at both Wacken Open Air in Germany and Barcelona Rockfest while touring their previous album Ghostlights, Avantasia proved they are one of the biggest names in operatic and symphonic heavy music. Sammet is a masterful storyteller, creating epic fantasy worlds that can barely be contained within his sprawling concept albums.They can barely be contained on stage either with Avantasia shows typically lasting for up to three hours!

Avantasia’s eighth studio album, ‘Moonglow’ is released in early 2019 and boasts an incredible list of performers including Jorn Lande, Eric Martin (Mr Big), Geoff Tate (ex-Queensryche), Michael Kiske (Helloween), Bob Catley (Magnum), Amanda Somerville, Candice Night, Hansi Kursch (Blind Guardian) & Mille Petrozza (Kreator).

Studio albums

The Metal Opera (2001)
The Metal Opera Part II (2002)
The Scarecrow (2008)
The Wicked Symphony (2010)
Angel of Babylon (2010)
The Mystery of Time (2013)
Ghostlights (2016)
Moonglow (2019)

Current core members
Tobias Sammet - Lead vocals, bass guitar (2001–present)
Sascha Paeth - Guitars, producer (2007–present)
Miro - Keyboards, orchestration (2007–present)
Felix Bohnke - Drums (2010, 2015–present)

Former core members
Markus Grosskopf - Bass guitar (2001–2002)
Henjo Richter - Guitars (2001–2002, 2007–2010)
Alex Holzwarth - Drums (2001–2002, 2010)
Eric Singer - Drums (2002, 2007–2010), vocals (2007)
Russell Gilbrook - Drums (2013)


Covered gigs:

   2019-08-18 Avantasia (Varna Rock 2019)

   2019-08-03 Avantasia (Skogsröjet 2019)

   2019-05-12 Avantasia (Metro_Theatre - Sydney)

   2016-08-12 Avantasia (Leyendas Del Rock 2016)

   2016-07-01 Avantasia (Tuska Open Air 2016)

   2016-06-10 Avantasia (Sweden Rock Festival 2016)

   2016-03-29 Avantasia (Full Metal Mountain 2016)

   2016-03-08 Avantasia (Forum - London)

   2013-08-10 Avantasia (Bloodstock 2013)

   2013-06-21 Avantasia (Hellfest Open Air 2013)

   2013-06-08 Avantasia (Sweden Rock Festival 2013)

   2011-08-06 Avantasia (Wacken Open Air 2011)

   2010-12-19 Avantasia (Grugahalle - Essen)

   2010-12-05 Avantasia (Arenan - Stockholm)

   2008-06-07 Avantasia (Sweden Rock Festival 2008)

Name* Comment*

Avantasia news Avantasia news Written 2019-05-02 12:13:26
Sunday, May 12: Metro Theatre, Sydney
Event Page:

Tuesday, May 14: The Forum, Melbourne
Event Page:

Tickets on sale now via